Search Options
Home Media Explainers Research & Publications Statistics Monetary Policy The €uro Payments & Markets Careers
Sort by

Executive Board

The Executive Board consists of the President, the Vice-President and four other members.

All members are appointed by the European Council, acting by a qualified majority.

Members of the Executive Board

(as at November 2023)


  • to prepare Governing Council meetings;
  • to implement monetary policy for the euro area in accordance with the guidelines specified and decisions taken by the Governing Council. In so doing, it gives the necessary instructions to the euro area NCBs;
  • to manage the day-to-day business of the ECB;
  • to exercise certain powers delegated to it by the Governing Council. These include some of a regulatory nature.

Terms of office

All Executive Board members are appointed for an eight-year term that cannot be renewed. As an exception, the members appointed to the first Board in 1998 received terms of varying lengths so that not all members would need to be replaced in the same year.

Timeline: Past and present Executive Board members

Find out more about related content

All pages in this section