Search Options
Home Media Explainers Research & Publications Statistics Monetary Policy The €uro Payments & Markets Careers
Sort by


The ECB is an official EU institution at the heart of the Eurosystem and the Single Supervisory Mechanism.

More than 5,000 employees and trainees from all over Europe work for the ECB in Frankfurt am Main, Germany. They perform a range of tasks in close cooperation with the national central banks within the Eurosystem and, for banking supervision, with the national supervisors within the Single Supervisory Mechanism.

Who is who?

The ECB’s President is Christine Lagarde and the Vice-President is Luis de Guindos. The main decision-making body is the Governing Council, which consists of the six members of the Executive Board plus the governors of the central banks of the euro area countries.

Decision-making Organisation chart of the ECB

Voting rights in the Governing Council

The national central bank governors take turns holding voting rights in the Governing Council. Find out how decisions are taken and why a rotation of voting rights was introduced.

Explainer: About the rotation of voting rights Rotation of voting rights: schedule

Find out more about related content

All pages in this section